18 things I learned in 2009

When I think about 2009, there are so many aspects which come into my mind. The truth is, it was an amazing year. Probably amazing would be the key word of the previous year.

Plans for 2010? I have plenty. But first things first: saying a proper goodbye to 2009 and to my 18th year of age.

So, here are the 18 things I learned in 2009:

1. I will never get tired of visiting Venice

I just love that city. I’ve learned some streets by heart, discovered the best confectioner’s, bookshop and  taken thousands of pictures there and read quite a lot about it. It’s the city I’d gladly move in any time.

2. Thinking big is healthy. And motivating.

The second Science Week was about 9 times more demanding, as it involved 9 schools. Though there’s this economic crisis, we had a team crisis and a lot of skepticism around us, we made it and shall pass it on, to some absolutely amazing kids who will definitely make a better job than we did. So thinking big was good for us. We were no longer doing everything for one school, we had to come up with a shape to fit all 9, we could not make mistakes, as we were the representatives of our school, we had to be new, creative, fast but most of all transparent and efficient. And we were. We were a real team.

3. There’s nothing better than a real team in difficult times

We had our ups and downs with Science Week, as any team, but at a certain moment we started to completely trust each other and really communicate and we obtained amazing results.

4. Having great mentors does make a difference

I am so lucky from this point of view. Not only have I found the courage to move on when I needed it, but also the scolding and the feedback which helped me so much to be what I am today. I’d really like to talk separately about each and every single one of them some day.

5. Want to achieve something big? Take everything step by step

I never thought I could learn how to drive or that I could get such a grade in IELTS, nor that I could get involved in so many projects and be very good in school. The recipe? Taking everything once at a time, being patient and working hard for what you want. It does matter what kind of person you are and what’s your inner pace, but you cannot rush for an outstanding result. You just cannot.

5. Time management. The efficient one.

I needed about a year to really learn how to juggle with so many aspects of my life. There were times when I was so tired I did not want to do anything else but sleep, but I’ve managed to do everything I wanted and even more.

6. Money is a means, not a purpose in life.

If you’re not happy with what you’re doing, money will not make you wake up smiling in the morning, thrilling about what you are going to do that day.

7. High scores in school do not matter that much. They don’t mean you’re smart or well prepared.

And this comes from me, a student who has been having very good grades all the time. From a certain point, I realised these grades must not be the reason for my learning better for a subject or not. I learned so much because I really wanted to know bits and pieces from every domain, as the real time to learn only what I’m interested in will be during my undergraduate studies.

8. How to say no.

It may sound strange, but I really needed to learn that to be able to focus on what’s important for me.

9. Therefore, at times, when it comes to prioritizing your personal life, being selfish is good.

10. Sharing is great. Actually, amazing.

I like to share and I do like the after-feeling. Even though at times I get grumpy and annoyed by people pushing too hard (I do have some limits), most of the time all I know and can do is shared with those around and willing to take.

11. Don’t make assumptions about people you don’t know. You might get burned. Or really surprised

You might either discover they are amazing persons or that they have just been interested in getting some help from you. The lessons you learn afterwards are really important.

12. Finding your element is difficult

Deciding upon my university course was difficult. But once I discovered what I really wanted to do,  there was nothing that could beat my determination to get there.

13. How to make a team bond, from scratch

I’m talking about the One World Film Clubs team of volunteers.  Not only we are nine and of different ages, but also from different grades. It was challenging, but b-e-a-utiful.

14. About motivation

The kind of motivation that really works for me. Most of it comes from the inside, from my wish of becoming and being better all the time.

15. Setting objectives

Setting realistic, achievable and measurable objectives was very, very important.

15. The basis of the basics of Management Science

16. More about the Indian and Muslim culture

17. A lot more Italian

By myself, meaning without a teacher but many Italians to talk to. So I was not really by myself…

18.  How to cook

Now my parents have a guarantee that in case of necessity, I can keep myself alive.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. cenusadelumina says:

    Ha ha .. the last one is the most important of all 😀 if you feed yourself properly then you have the guarantee you will live to make your own dreams come true 🙂
    You’ve learned a lot in the past year and I am really curious what you will find out in the year that will come 🙂

  2. Iulia says:

    wow anca. Seems to have been a great year for you , that’s why I can say I am very very happy for you and I hope that next year , when you turn 20 , you’ll have 19 things you’d have learned this year. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to learn the lessons from above, but I’ll keep my hopes up.>:D<

Leave a comment